I’m a police wife?

clear_background_large

Even though my husband has been a Police Officer for years, I was the first person to resist being labeled a “police wife.” I guess I just didn’t feel like it was appropriate to label myself since that isn’t something other professions do. I don’t hear my friend Karen labeling herself a “welder’s wife”. So, I just didn’t get it. I was against the label, indefinitely.

Well, at least I was– till this year.

This year, my husband works 12-hour shifts on Christmas and Christmas Eve. It took a minute for this to sink in. This means that he will risk his life on the biggest holiday of the year while I sit at home petting my cat. This means that if someone out there decides to make a stupid choice on Christmas, my husband will risk his life to save a stranger. It hit me hard and all at once, I’m a police wife.

Well, despite the fact that my cat has an unprecedented bipolar personality, I guess I could be in worse company on Christmas.

I hope my cat doesn’t read this,

Blaire

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

